Skip to content

Prison Break

October 8, 2007

I see ads for this show, and I don’t get it: do they just keep breaking out of prison every episode? Do they keep getting put back in? You’d think that such an inept crew of prisonbreakers would eventually just settle in at the ol’ hoosegow.

Which brings to mind:

Hoosegow: NOUN: Slang. A place for the confinement of persons in lawful detention: brig, house of correction, jail, keep, penitentiary, prison. Informal: lockup, pen. Slang: big house, can, clink, cooler, coop, joint, jug, pokey, slammer, stir. Chiefly regional: calaboose. See FREE.

Thanks, Roget’s II!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ClatieK permalink
    October 8, 2007 3:01 am

    How can I work “calaboose” into my daily conversation? Hmm…

  2. t face permalink
    October 29, 2007 11:49 pm

    I am glad someone else said it. I have been saying this since it first came out. I believe my exact words were. “How can they make a show about that?”

Leave a Reply

