Skip to content

Back on the Job

January 18, 2010

Dear Reader,

It’s been so long since I’ve written, more than a month now.  There is no excuse for my tardiness—but there are reasons.  Allow me to enumerate them:

My last day at Meetings & Conventions magazine was Friday, December 18th.  On Monday the 21st I flew down south for a week in a North Arkansas cabin with my family, including my precious baby niece Emma.  I left my laptop at home.

A week after returning to New York, I started my new job as a senior editor at Convene magazine, which is published by the Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA).  Then, three days after I started, I got on a plane to Dallas for a week for PCMA’s annual meeting, which is pretty much the busiest time of the year for the association and the magazine.  We put out a show daily while on site, which meant long hours and quick deadlines.  But, it was a lot of fun.  I really like my new co-workers.  Dig us all:

From left to right: Roger, our art director; Barbara, my fellow senior editor; Michelle, my editor-in-chief; Chris, my executive editor; and c'est moi.

I returned from Dallas late last Wednesday night, after having worked straight through the weekend.  Then I worked on Thursday and Friday, ending a good long twelve-day run.  It’s been a well-deserved three-day weekend.  But back to it tomorrow.  Hopefully the blog will be revived after I get into the swing of things at work.

I remain,

Your faithful correspondent,

Hunter

P.S.—Up in the Air is fantastic.  Avatar is visually incredible and the story/dialogue isn’t distractingly bad.  WFUV (90.7 FM on the New York dial, WFUV.org online) is the best radio station.  Hoarders is a really screwed-up show.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 12:20 pm

    Yes to all those things. Yes. Especially about Hoarders. It’s the worst of train wrecks.

Leave a Reply

