Skip to content

Unlike President Clinton, I Know that President Obama Truly Feels My Pain

March 1, 2010

From today’s Times, about the president’s recent physical (especially see the bolded bit below):

As for Mr. Obama’s smoking, Mr. Gibbs said the president had tried to quit, but had “admitted lapses.” It is not known how frequently Mr. Obama smokes, or what the figure is for his total “pack years,” a standard measure of a smoker’s risk for diseases like lung cancer.

Mr. Gibbs referred reporters to the president’s own words from last June, when he was asked about his smoking addiction while signing a law aimed at keeping children from starting to smoke. The president noted that 90 percent of smokers began on or before their 18th birthday.

“I know — I was one of those teenagers,” Mr. Obama said. “I know how difficult it can be to break this habit when it’s been with you for a long time.”

He added: “I would say that I am 95 percent cured, but there are times where I mess up.”

Mrs. Obama admonished him to quit smoking when he started his campaign in 2007, saying, “He couldn’t be a smoking president.”

Mr. Obama chews nicotine gum to cut down on his smoking.

“Have I fallen off the wagon sometimes? Yes,” Mr. Obama said last June at a White House news conference. “Am I a daily smoker, a constant smoker? No.”

True that, Prez.  As Mark Twain once said, “Quitting smoking is easy—I’ve done it hundreds of times.”

For me, it’s Day 23.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:05 pm

    Congrats on 23 and counting! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

